Student Affairs

Academic Affairs Division

Required High School Curriculum

Information for High School Counselors

The Required High School Curriculum (RHSC) is the cornerstone of the University System of Georgia (USG) admissions policy. Students are encouraged to pursue a challenging and rigorous high school curriculum to be best prepared for a successful college experience and should consult with their high school counselor to determine appropriate coursework.

The RHSC requires that students successfully complete the following high school units:

  • 4 units of English
  • 4 units of mathematics
  • 4 units of science
  • 3 units of social science
  • 2 units of the same foreign language, or 2 units of American Sign Language, or 2 units of computer science

The USG’s Staying on Course document document provides important information about the RHSC requirements, including the specific high school courses approved to satisfy the 17 RHSC units.