Academic Common Market

for the University System of Georgia

ACM Logo

The Academic Common Market (ACM), which is administered by the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB), allows for Georgia residents who are enrolled in specific programs at out-of-state institutions to be charged only the applicable in-state tuition by the institution in which the student is enrolled. Eligible programs are those programs, which are at least 50 percent different in curricular content than programs offered in Georgia. Participating states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia (Florida and Texas participate only at the graduate level).

A student must be accepted into the specific program desired on a full-time basis and must complete the application for certification of Georgia residency. When the completed form is returned to this office, a copy of the letter of acceptance into the program from the institution must be attached. If we determine that the student is a Georgia resident on the basis of information submitted, we will write a letter of certification to the student and provide a copy to the appropriate official at the institution. This will qualify the student for a waiver of out-of-state fees.

Periodic changes are made in the ACM program inventory. Please note, the State of Georgia is not adding additional majors to the ACM program. Since the list of programs offered through the ACM is frequently updated, visit SREB’s website for the most recent list.

Program Highlights:

Approved programs must be designed to culminate in the conferral of a baccalaureate, masters, specialist, or doctoral degree, and the institution must be able to classify the participant as degree-seeking. All other degrees or awards are not eligible for inclusion in the ACM. Additionally, some institutions and states may impose additional acceptance requirements such as full-time enrollment status.

Noted Restrictions:

  • Student’s at the following institutions must be determined ACM-eligible prior to state certification being issued: Auburn University (AL); the University of Alabama; and Middle Tennessee State University. Contact the institution for further details.
  • Texas, and Florida limit ACM access and participation to the graduate level only.
  • Auburn University (AL) limits ACM access to undergraduate programs.
  • The following institutions limit ACM access to programs that are currently in the ACM inventory (no new requests for program additions will be accepted at this time): the University of Alabama, the University of Delaware, the University of Mississippi, the University of Southern Mississippi, and the University of Oklahoma.
  • The following institutions do not participate in the ACM: the University of Maryland at Eastern Shore, The Citadel (SC), the College of Charleston (SC), Francis Marion University (SC), the University of South Carolina at Beaufort, the University of Texas at Austin, James Madison University (VA), the University of Mary Washington (VA); the University of Virginia, and Virginia Commonwealth University.
  • The State of Texas do not provide ACM access to online graduate programs.
  • Clemons University is currently available only for incoming graduate students; undergraduate programs are no longer offered.

Academic Common Market Disclaimer
As the coordinating agency for the state of Georgia’s participation in the SREB’s Academic Common Market (ACM), the University System of Georgia (USG) reserves the right at its discretion and at any time to remove academic programs offered by Georgia institutions from the ACM and/or remove access to academic programs at out-of-state institutions offered to Georgians through the ACM.

Students who begin studies at one institution with the intent to transfer to an ACM institution/program are not guaranteed ACM access if the respective program is removed from the ACM during their time at the institution of origin.