Campus Consolidations

Serving Our Students and State

Chancellor Steve Wrigley recently recommended two consolidations to the Board of Regents: Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University and Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College and Bainbridge State College. The Board acted upon the recommendations at its January 2017 meeting approving the consolidations. The two new institutions will be named Georgia Southern University, to be led by President Jaimie Hebert, and Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, to be led by President David Bridges.

In October 2011, then Chancellor Hank Huckaby recommended the initial four consolidations among eight USG institutions. At its November 2011 meeting the Board of Regents adopted six “Principles for Consolidation” that were then used by University System staff to assess the potential for other campus consolidations. Additional consolidations have since been recommended and approved. The potential for additional consolidations remains an active policy.

This website is designed to help foster that transparent process. In addition to general information about the consolidations, there are individual pages for each specific consolidation.