Campus Consolidations

University System of Georgia

Kennesaw State University

Profiles - Consolidated Institutions

Kennesaw State University

  • Fall 2013 Enrollment: 24,629
  • First-Year Retention: 76.1%
  • Established 1963
  • Students come from Metro ATL
  • 6 Year Graduation: 41.52%
  • Total FY14 Budget: $271.3M

Southern Polytechnic State University

  • Established 1948
  • Fall 2013 Enrollment: 6,549
  • Students come from Metro ATL
  • First-Year Retention: 75.3%
  • 6Year Graduation: 36.5%
  • KSU is #1 transfer choice for students who transfer
  • Total FY14 Budget: $71.6M

Opportunities & Challenges


  • Expands the ability to create more work-force related degrees
  • Opens the door for a wider array of student activities
  • Trend toward duplication would be eliminated
  • Allows for seamless transfer
  • Combines resources to enhance responsiveness to regional economic and community development needs


  • Blending of institutional cultures

The members of the Consolidation Implementation Committee are:


  • Dr. Dan Papp. President, Kennesaw State University
  • Dr. Lisa Rossbacher, President, Southern Polytechnic State University

SPSU Members

  • Ms. Jill Brady, Registrar, Office of Student and Enrollment Services
  • Dr. Renee Butler, Chair and Professor, Department of Systems and Mechanical Engineering
  • Mr. Austin Clayton, President, Student Government Association
  • Dr. Sam Conn, Vice President of Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
  • Mr. Jim Cooper, Assistant Vice President, Office of University Communications
  • Mr. Matt Griffin, Director of Athletics
  • Ms. Kasey Helton, Director, Office Of Campus Services
  • Ms. Quint Hill, Associate Director, Office of Human Resources
  • Dr. Wendy Kallina, Executive Director, Institutional Research, Planning, and Assessment
  • Ms. Alana Kyriakakis, University Counsel
  • Dr. Julie Newell, Chair and Professor, Department of Social and International Studies
  • Dr. Jon Preston, Coordinator, Computer Game Design & Development & Professor, Computer Science
  • Ms. Robin Wade, Director, Office of Budgets and Grants

KSU Members

  • Ms. Terri Arnold, Manager, Planning and Strategic Initiatives, Office of External Affairs
  • Dr. Flora Devine, University General Counsel & Special Assistant to the President for Legal Affairs
  • Dr. Kathryn Epps, Director and Associate Professor, School of Accountancy, Coles College of Business
  • Ms. Dawn Gamadanis, Director, Office of Budget and Planning
  • Dr. Ken Harmon, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Mr. Mike Harders, Vice President for Development and Advancement
  • Dr. Randy Hinds, Vice President for Operations, CIO, & CFO
  • Dr. Maureen McCarthy, Faculty Executive Assistant to the President and Professor, Psychology
  • Dr. Michael Sanseviro, Dean of Students
  • Mr. Randy Shelton, Executive Director, Auxiliary Programs and Services
  • Ms. Katherine Street, President, Student Government Association
  • Mr. Kim West, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Services
  • Mr. Vaughn Williams, Director of Athletics