External Affairs Division

USG Foundation Raises More Than $1.43 million for Need-Based Scholarships

Atlanta — April 4, 2017

The 13th annual Regents’ Scholarship Gala, held on Friday, March 31, successfully raised more than $1.43 million to promote, support, and provide need-based scholarships for students at the University System of Georgia’s twenty-eight institutions.

Through the leadership and direction of University System of Georgia Foundation Chair, Regent Philip Wilheit and the entire Foundation Board, the annual gala supporting need-based aid surpassed previous amounts raised and achieved a record-breaking year.

“I would like to extend my sincere appreciation for the great team effort and support from our generous donors and friends who made this a true ‘Evening of Gratitude,’” said Regent Wilheit.

The gala honors faculty, alumni and one individual who exemplify true leadership and support of higher education in Georgia.

Each year, the USG Foundation presents the Regent Elridge McMillan Award to an individual who has demonstrated a long and significant record of commitment and accomplishment on behalf of public higher education in Georgia. This is the highest honor the University System of Georgia Foundation bestows on someone who has made a difference in higher education. The 2017 Elridge McMillan Lifetime Achievement Award was given to former University System of Georgia Chancellor, Mr. Hank Huckaby.

Gov. Nathan Deal presented the award to Mr. Huckaby; also, on-stage for the presentation were, Mrs. Amy Huckaby, First Lady Sandra Deal, Regent Philip Wilheit, Mr. Elridge McMillan and current USG Chancellor, Dr. Steve Wrigley. Six University System of Georgia faculty members were honored as the 2017 recipients of the Felton Jenkins Jr. Hall of Fame Faculty Award, including:

David M. Collard, Georgia Institute of Technology

Stephen Raynie, Gordon State College

Miriam Segura-Totten, University of North Georgia

Anissa Lokey Vega, Kennesaw State University

Jennifer L. Brown, Columbus State University

Hilary H. Steiner, Kennesaw State University

The Foundation also recognized four recipients of the Regents Hall of Fame Alumni and Distinguished Friends Award, including:

Thomas W. Dortch, Jr., nominated by Fort Valley State University

James Joseph Edwards, Sr., nominated by Gordon State College

Jerry Jennett, nominated by Valdosta State University

John and Marilyn McMullan, nominated by the University of Georgia

The annual Regents’ Scholarship Gala included individuals from the USG’s 28 institutions, as well as supporters, donors, alumni and businesses.

« News Releases