External Affairs Division

University System of Georgia Announces Post-Tenure Review Working Group

Atlanta — September 8, 2020

University System of Georgia (USG) Chancellor Steve Wrigley today announced the formation of a Post-Tenure Review Working Group to evaluate existing policy and make recommendations for updates as needed.

The group will be chaired by Dr. Kathy Schwaig, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at Kennesaw State University, and is composed of faculty leaders from all USG sectors, USG staff and members of the Board of Regents.

The working group’s purpose will be to review and recommend updates to board policy and campus practices to ensure all faculty remain productive throughout their careers. Periodic evaluation of tenured faculty helps assess whether faculty continue to stay current in their field, engage in service to their campus and community and teach effectively. The overall purpose is to encourage faculty development after tenure.

Board of Regents policy on post-tenure review was first adopted in 1996. The policy has remained largely unchanged since then.

In addition to Dr. Schwaig, members of the working group include:

  • Dr. Helen Bland, Georgia Southern University Professor, Department of Health Policy and Community Health, Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health

  • Dr. Don Brown, Middle Georgia State University Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics & Statistics

  • Dr. Alan Darvill, University of Georgia Regent’s Professor and Director, Complex Carbohydrate Research Center

  • Dr. Tristan Denley, USG Executive Vice Chancellor & Chief Academic Officer

  • Dr. Jayme Feagin, Georgia Highlands College Professor of History, Department School of Social Sciences and Education

  • Dr. Jeffery Galle, USG Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs USG Office of Faculty Development

  • Erin Hames, member, Board of Regents

  • Dr. Carlos Isales, MD, Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University Regent’s Professor, Department of Neuroscience & Regenerative Medicine, Clinical Director for the Center for Healthy Aging

  • Teresa MacCartney, USG Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration

  • Harold Reynolds, member, Board of Regents

  • Dr. Brian Ring, Valdosta State University Associate Professor, Molecular Genetics and Developmental Biology Chair, USG Faculty Council

« News Releases