University System of Georgia

The central communications/public information operation for the USG

Southern Polytechnic Presidential Search Committees Appointed

Atlanta — November 12, 1997

The two committees involved in assisting the Board of Regents in selecting a new president for Southern Polytechnic State University were announced today by Stephen R. Portch, chancellor of the University System of Georgia.

The Special Regents’ Committee will be chaired by Regent Kenneth W. Cannestra. Regents Elridge W. McMillan and A. W. Dahlberg also will serve, along with Regent S. William Clark, Jr. and Chancellor Portch as ex-officio members.

The campus-level Presidential Search and Screen Committee – which consists of seven representatives from the campus community and has the charge of providing not less than five unranked finalists to the Special Regents’ Committee – will be chaired by Dr. Sidney Davis, a professor in the Technology Management Department. The two faculty members tapped to serve are: Dr. David R. Caudill, an associate professor in the Industrial Engineering Department; and Dr. LuJuana Cochrane, an assistant professor in the Social and International Studies Department. Staff members will be represented by Dr. Emerelle McNair, director of Scholarships and Financial Aid. Ms. Amy Roberts, president of the Student Government Association, will represent the student body. The Southern Polytechnic State University Foundation will be represented by, Mr. Edward B. Andrews, group vice president of SunTrust Bank. The University’s Alumni Association will be represented by Mr. David Manual, area sales manager for South Africa, Siemens Energy & Automation.

“This will be a national search,” Chancellor Portch stated. “Southern Polytechnic has evolved into an outstanding institution, and now is a member of an elite group of universities that focus on applied technology as their strength. That fact, coupled with Georgia’s strong technology infrastructure, makes me certain that this search will draw the interest of some of the nation’s leading educators.”

The search is expected to be completed by June 30, 1998.

« News Releases