University System of Georgia

The central communications/public information operation for the USG

Presidential Search and Screen Committee Named For Bainbridge College

Atlanta — September 11, 1997

University System of Georgia Chancellor Stephen R. Portch has announced that the process has been initiated to select a new president of Bainbridge College to replace recently-retired president Edward D. Mobley.

A Special Regents’ Committee for Bainbridge College’s presidential search has been named and includes: John Hunt, chair; Shannon L. Amos; S. William Clark, Jr.; and Chancellor Portch, ex-officio.

In addition, a campus-level Presidential Search and Advisory Committee has been named and will be chaired by Dr. Stanley J. Webb, professor of English and French. Faculty representatives include: Dr. Robert U. Coker, chairman of the technical studies division and professor of technical studies, and Stephanie Smith Breedlove, instructor of mathematics and MAP coordinator. Staff members will be represented by Dr. Karen Hill, director of admissions and records. Jason Heard, a member of the Bainbridge College Student Government Association, will represent students. The Bainbridge College Foundation will be represented by John M. Simmons, a member of the Foundation. Bainbridge alumni will be represented by Heidi L. Butler.

The campus-level committee will have its initial meeting on September 22, 1997, on the campus of Bainbridge College. Chancellor Portch will address the committee and give the members their charge and a timeline for the search process.

Following Regents’ policy on hiring, the campus-level committee first screens applicants and forwards at least five unranked candidates to the special Regents’ subcommittee. The Regents’ subcommittee will then interview these candidates and make a recommendation on one candidate to the full Board of Regents for Board approval.

« News Releases