University System of Georgia

The central communications/public information operation for the USG

North Georgia College & State University Presidential Search Committee Named

Atlanta — June 11, 2004

Board of Regents Chair Joe Frank Harris and University System of Georgia Chancellor Thomas C. Meredith announced today the appointment of the two committees that will be charged with assisting in the selection of a new president for North Georgia College & State University (NGCSU).

The search is being conducted to replace President Nathanial Hansford, who announced in March 2004 his intention to retire. Dr. Hansford, who was appointed NGCSU president in April 1999, will continue to serve as president until Chancellor Meredith and the Board of Regents appoint his successor.

Regent Patrick S. Pittard will chair the Special Regents’ Committee for the presidential search, announced Harris and Meredith. Additional members of the committee include Regent James R. Jolly and Regent Glenn S. White.

Chancellor Meredith will charge the eight-member Presidential Search and Advisory Committee formally on Tuesday, June 15, 2004, at 1:30 p.m., in a meeting to be held in the third floor conference room of the Price Memorial Building, on the NGCSU campus.

“As one of the nation’s six senior military colleges, North Georgia College & State University fulfills a unique role in the University System of Georgia through its special mission of leadership development,” said Meredith. “We will conduct a broad search and cast a wide net to identify a new president with the background and skills needed to continue leading this great institution forward.”

Members of the Presidential Search and Advisory Committee were selected from a list of nominees submitted for consideration by the leadership of their respective groups, as called for in the Board of Regents’ policy on presidential searches. Dr. Mark Spraker, associate professor of physics, will serve as chair of the Presidential Search and Advisory Committee. Additional faculty members selected to serve include: Dr. Shirley Holmes, professor of teacher education; Dr. Andy Schaffer, assistant professor of business administration; and Dr. Linda Williams, chair of the Department of Language and Literature.

Ms. Karen Roop, an advancement services coordinator, will represent the institution’s staff. Mr. Scott Dickson, president of the NGCSU Student Government Association, will represent the student body. Mr. Ed Nix, chairman of the NGCSU Foundation executive committee, will represent the Foundation. Mr. John Cavender, vice president of the NGCSU Alumni Council, will represent the University’s alumni.

Meredith also announced that an executive search firm, Greenwood & Associates of Miramar Beach, Fla., has been retained to assist the advisory committee and the search by identifying qualified candidates.

The campus-level committee will screen applicants and forward at least five unranked candidates to the Special Regents’ Committee. The regents on that committee will interview identified candidates and make a recommendation to the chancellor and the full Board of Regents for consideration and final approval.

Chancellor Meredith expects to conclude the search during fall 2004.

« News Releases