The central communications/public information operation for the USG

Medical College of Georgia Presidential Search Committee Named

Atlanta — July 10, 2009

Robert Hatcher, chair of the Board of Regents for the University System of Georgia, announced today the appointment of the Medical College of Georgia Presidential Search Committee. A national search will be conducted to replace Medical College of Georgia President Daniel W. Rahn who has accepted a position as chancellor of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. Rahn has served as president of MCG since June 2001. Since July 2006, Rahn also has served as senior vice chancellor for health and medical programs for the University System of Georgia.

Hatcher announced the membership of the Search Committee, which will guide the first stage of the search. USG Chancellor Erroll B. Davis Jr. and the Board of Regents have engaged R. William Funk and Associates, Dallas, Texas, to serve as the search firm for the committee. The company was selected to aid in the search from a number of national higher education executive recruiters. Susan Herbst, USG executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer, will schedule an initial meeting within the coming weeks, at which time the members will be formally charged with their roles and responsibilities in conducting the search.

Members of the Presidential Search Committee are as follows:

  • Regent James Bishop, committee chair
  • Regent William Cleveland
  • Regent Robert Hatcher
  • Regent Mansfield Jennings
  • Regent Don Leebern
  • Regent Kessel Stelling
  • Regent Ben Tarbutton
  • Dr. John Blalock, DMD, associate professor, School of Dentistry
  • Dr. John Catravas, PhD, Director, Vascular Biology Center; professor, School of Medicine
  • Dr. Pamela Cook, DNP, Vice Chair, University Faculty Senate; professor, School of Nursing
  • Dr. Kent Guion, MD, Associate Dean, School of Allied Health Sciences
  • Dr. Anthony Mulloy, MD, Chair, Physicians Practice Group; Associate Vice President for Clinical Research and professor, School of Medicine
  • Dr. Ana Murphy, MD, professor and Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology, School of Medicine
  • Ms. Mickey Williford, Director of Organizational Development and Effectiveness
  • Mr. Clay Boardman, Chair of Board, Georgia Health Sciences University Foundation
  • Dr. Ben Cheek, MD, President, School of Medicine Alumni Association
  • Dr. Dan Deloach, MD, Past Chair, Medical College of Georgia Foundation Board of Trustees; Past President, School of Medicine Alumni Association
  • Mr. Walter Dukes, Regional Vice President, Georgia Power
  • Mr. Jim Lientz, Chief Operating Officer, State of Georgia
  • Dr. Dawnyetta Marable, student, School of Dentistry; President, Student Government Association
« News Releases