The central communications/public information operation for the USG

GC&SU’s Presidential Search and Advisory Committee Named

Atlanta — May 2, 2003

University System of Georgia Chancellor Thomas C. Meredith announced today the appointment of the campus-based Presidential Search and Advisory Committee charged with assisting in the selection of a new president for Georgia College & State University.

The chancellor formally charged the 11-member search committee in a meeting today held on GC&SU’s Milledgeville campus. Meredith also announced that he has enlisted Atlanta-based executive search firm Baker-Parker and Associates to identify qualified candidates for the presidency.

The search is being conducted to replace outgoing GC&SU President Rosemary DePaolo, who announced her resignation from the institution last month to accept the chancellorship of the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, effective July 1, 2003. She has served as president of GC&SU for six years.

“The campus-based search committee plays a critical role in the search process, because they help us ensure we stay on course with the current mission and momentum of the institution,” Meredith stated. “We are pleased with the caliber of the representatives who accepted our invitation to serve, and we are confident we will have an extremely productive search process with a successful outcome for both the institution and the University System.”

Members of the Presidential Search and Advisory Committee were selected from a list of nominees submitted for consideration by the leadership of their respective groups, as called for in the Board of Regents’ policy on presidential searches. Dr. David Evans, chair of GC&SU’s Department of English, Speech and Journalism, will serve as chair of the Committee. Additional faculty members selected to serve are: Ms. Lorene E. Flanders, associate library director; Dr. Barbara Funke, professor, Health Education; Dr. Rosalie Richards, GC&SU’s Kaolin Endowed Chair in Science and an associate professor of chemistry; Dr. Dee Russell, associate professor, Early Childhood and Middle Grades Education; and Dr. Michael J. Whitfield, chair of the University’s Department of Management.

Ms. Cindy Diaz, past president of GC&SU’s Staff Council, will represent the institution’s staff. Mr. Herbert (Herby) Allen Agnew, II, past president of the GC&SU Ambassadors, and Ms. Jennie Prosnak, a current member of the GC&SU Ambassadors, will represent the student body. Mr. H. Jay Walker, III, chair of the GC&SU Foundation Board of Trustees, will represent the Georgia College & State University Foundation. Ms. Genie M. Snyder, president of the GC&SU Alumni Association, will represent the college’s alumni.

« News Releases