The central communications/public information operation for the USG

East Georgia Presidential Search and Advisory Committee Named

Atlanta — September 9, 2003

University System of Georgia Chancellor Thomas C. Meredith announced today the appointment of the campus-based Presidential Search and Advisory Committee charged with assisting in the selection of a new president for East Georgia College.

The chancellor will formally charge the eight-member search committee in a meeting at 10:30 a.m., Friday, Sept. 12, to be held at the Luck Flanders Gambrell Center on the East Georgia College campus.

The search is being conducted to replace former East Georgia College President Dr. Jeremiah J. Ashcroft, who was president of the college from 1993 through July 2002. Ashcroft became the founding president of Southern Catholic College, which will open in Dawson County, Ga.

“East Georgia College serves as an outstanding access point in the University System for hundreds of students who are location-bound yet desire a high-quality education,” said Meredith. “Our goal is to ensure that this institution will continue to grow, thrive and serve its community under new leadership as it has over the past decade. We are determined to identify a solid leader to fill this vacancy.”

Members of the Presidential Search and Advisory Committee were selected from a list of nominees submitted for consideration by the leadership of their respective groups, as called for in the Board of Regents’ policy on presidential searches. Dr. Ed Bolton professor of math and chair of the Mathematics and Science Division will serve as chair of the advisory committee. Additional faculty members selected to serve are: Dr. Alan Brasher, assistant professor of English, Dr. Sandra Sharman, associate professor of reading and director of Learning Support at the Statesboro Center, and Dr. Glenn Stracher, associate professor of geology.

Ms. Adriance Galloway, vice president for Fiscal Affairs, will represent the institution’s staff. Ms. Patsy Wilcher will represent the student body. Mr. Ray Woods, chair of the East Georgia College Foundation, will represent this group. Ms. Belinda Thomas will represent the college’s alumni.

The Special Regents’ Committee for the presidential search, also announced by Chancellor Meredith, will be chaired by Regent Martin W. Nesmith. Other members of this committee include Regents Connie Cater and J. Timothy Shelnut.

« News Releases