The central communications/public information operation for the USG

College of Coastal Georgia Presidential Search Committee Named

Atlanta — November 10, 2017

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia has named the two committees required by Regents’ policy to conduct a national search for the next president of the College of Coastal Georgia (CCGA).

“The presidential search committee is a comprehensive representation from our College of Coastal Georgia stakeholders comprised of faculty, staff, alumni, students, the foundation, and the Brunswick community,” said Chancellor Steve Wrigley. “The committee plays a critical role in the future of the College of Coastal Georgia. I’m grateful for their support and willingness to lead the search process.”

The Regents’ Special Committee will be chaired by Regent Don L. Waters, and includes Regents C. Thomas Hopkins, M.D., James M. Hull, Rutledge A. Griffin Jr., Laura Marsh and Richard L. Tucker. The search and screening of candidates is the responsibility of the 14-member, campus-based Presidential Search Committee as follows:

  • Tanya Cofer, Ph.D., associate professor and chair, Department of Mathematics; Presidential Search Committee chair
  • Tamera Adams, head resident assistant, student
  • Tiffany Davis, associate director of Residence Life and Housing/deputy Title IX coordinator and chair, CCGA Staff Assembly; CCGA alumna
  • Jennifer Gray, Ph.D., associate professor of English; senator, CCGA Faculty Senate
  • Karen Hambright, Ph.D., professor of psychology and chair, CCGA Faculty Senate
  • Kay Hampton, MSN, interim provost and vice president for Academic Affairs
  • C. Tate Holbrook, Ph.D., assistant professor of biology and chair-elect, CCGA Faculty Senate
  • Charles T. Hopkins III, DMD, Plantation Dental Associates; CCGA Foundation trustee
  • Wayne Johnson, president/CEO, The Coastal Bank of Georgia and CCGA Foundation chair
  • Jack Kilgore, retired president, Consumer Brands Division, Rich Products Corporation and CCGA Foundation immediate past chair
  • Cedric King, manager of community relations, Pinova; CCGA Foundation trustee
  • Don Mathews, Ph.D., professor of economics, School of Business and Public Management
  • Macy Patten, president, CCGA Student Government Association
  • Lydia Watkins, DNP, assistant professor and chair, Department of Nursing & Health Sciences

The duties of the Presidential Search and Screen Committee include the development of a position description, recruiting and conducting interviews. The search firm of Witt/Kieffer has been engaged to assist the search committee.

The charge to the Presidential Search and Screen Committee will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 28, 2017 at the College of Coastal Georgia. At the conclusion of its work, the campus committee will forward the credentials of three to five unranked candidates to the Regents’ Special Committee for consideration.

« News Releases