External Affairs Division

2023-24 Executive Leadership Institute Class Graduates from the University System of Georgia

Atlanta — May 30, 2024

The University System of Georgia (USG) has graduated its 2023-24 Executive Leadership Institute (ELI) cohort, including 34 faculty and staff members from 23 USG institutions and the University System Office. This year’s cohort convened on Aug. 29, 2023, and is the 14th cohort to graduate from the program.

“This group includes some of the best among our faculty and staff across Georgia,” USG Chancellor Sonny Perdue said. “As one of the top public university systems in the nation, we are invested in supporting and growing the people already working hard right here in the university system. With this professional development, USG wants to help them reach their full potential.”

Since 2009, USG has hosted ELI for faculty and staff to develop new leaders within the university system and offer professional development opportunities to help them grow their careers in Georgia. University presidents nominate academic and staff leaders to participate. From the nominees, individuals are selected for the program and participate in a leadership development curriculum that includes content, personal reflection, job shadowing and cross-mentoring.

“I have learned so much from my experience with ELI,” said Troy Keller, professor of environmental science at Columbus State University and a member of this year’s cohort. “I am forever grateful for the opportunity to participate in the program. I wish more faculty in the system could participate. I believe they, too, would benefit as I have from this rigorous and comprehensive program.”

The 2023-2024 ELI cohort includes:

  • Tracy Adkins Burge, executive director, Academic Technology and Campus Engagement, Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Scott Argo, assistant vice president, Recruitment and Admissions, College of Coastal Georgia
  • Forrest Blackbourn, associate professor and director, QEP/PACE (Perspectives, Advising, Campus Resources, Engagement), Dalton State College
  • Timika Boykin, chief officer, Human Resources, Atlanta Metropolitan State College
  • Brian Crawford, associate professor and chair, Department of Science and Mathematics, Atlanta Metropolitan State College
  • Melissa Dempsey, assistant dean, Student Engagement, Columbus State University
  • Aileen Dowell, associate vice president and dean, Student Affairs, Georgia Southern University
  • Brandi Elliott, associate vice president, Student Success, South Georgia State College
  • Diantha Ellis, professor and faculty senate immediate past president, Business Administration, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
  • Jennifer Fields, director, Admissions, East Georgia State College
  • Corrie Fountain, associate provost, Faculty Affairs, Georgia State University
  • Natasha Goss, associate professor, Accounting and Business, East Georgia State College
  • Dwayne Hooks, dean and professor, College of Health and College of Arts and Sciences, Clayton State University
  • Elizabeth Hutchins, executive director, Advising and Student Success, Dalton State College
  • Troy Keller, professor and chair, Department of Earth and Space Sciences, Columbus State University
  • John Leyba, dean, College of Science and Mathematics, University of North Georgia
  • Shannon McGhee, associate vice chancellor, Legal Affairs, University System Office
  • Mohamad Mustafa, dean, College of Sciences and Technology, Savannah State University
  • Beth Myers, associate professor and chair, School of Human Ecology, Georgia Southern University
  • Sheri Noviello, interim provost and vice president, Academic Affairs, Valdosta State University
  • Alyson Paul, vice president, Student Engagement and Success, University of North Georgia
  • Devesh Ranjan, Eugene C. Gwaltney, Jr. School chair, George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Clint Samples, associate dean and professor, College of Arts, Culture and Scientific Inquiry, University of West Georgia
  • Hari Singh, professor and chair, Department of Agricultural Sciences, Fort Valley State University
  • Douglas Stewart, chief information officer, Gordon State College
  • Sabrina Thompson, director, Accreditation Support and Athletics, University System Office
  • Christy Todd, associate director, Administrative Services and OneUSG Connect, University System Office
  • Chris Tsavatewa, assistant provost, Academic Planning, Research and Effectiveness, Middle Georgia State University
  • Nicholas Urquhart, assistant vice president, Student Success, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
  • Anissa Vega, associate vice provost, Kennesaw State University
  • Omar Villanueva, associate professor and chair, Chemistry Department, Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Joel Wright, chief officer, Legal Affairs, Albany State University
  • Jen Yearwood, assistant director, Talent Management and Human Resources, Georgia College and State University
  • Henry Young, Kroger professor and department head, College of Pharmacy, University of Georgia
« News Releases