The central communications/public information operation for the USG

1998 Regents’ Teaching Excellence Awards Presented at Georgia Southern University

Atlanta — May 12, 1998

Three University System of Georgia faculty members, one academic department and two academic programs have been selected to receive 1998 Regents Teaching Excellence Awards. The awards were presented during a two-day Distinguished Professors’ Conference held on the campus of Georgia Southern University, on May 11-12, 1998.

The Regents’ Teaching Excellence Awards recognize and reward outstanding teaching by faculty and promote and recognize excellence in teaching and service by departments or programs at the University System’s 34 institutions. This is the second year the awards have been presented.

Individuals or departments are nominated for the award, and all nominations are reviewed by a committee composed of faculty and department chairs from throughout the University System. Recipients, who each receive $5,000, are selected based upon a superlative teaching record, which includes a strong commitment to fostering the academic success of students through classroom instruction and interaction with students outside of the classroom.

“The art of teaching is fundamental to all that we do,” said Chancellor Stephen R. Portch. “These awards reflect the Board’s emphasis on rewarding outstanding teaching in the University System, and give enhanced visibility to the core mission that we serve.”

Faculty recipients of the 1998 Regents Teaching Excellence Awards are:

  • Dr. Harvey J. Brightman, Regents Professor of decision sciences at Georgia State University. Brightman was cited for his development of a doctoral course on principles of teaching for graduate teaching assistants. He also is the co-director of the Master Teacher Program, a professional development program geared toward university-level faculty. Approximately 250 faculty from more than 150 business schools worldwide have attended this innovative program.

  • Dr. L. Wayne Plumly, Jr., professor of marketing/economics at Valdosta State University. Plumly was selected based upon his significant contributions to student learning, superb teaching skills and an exceptional commitment to students. He uses an interactive, multimedia, classroom-learning method of instruction. Plumly also organized a campus chapter of Students of Free Enterprise, which has competed regionally and internationally. He also was named the “Outstanding Educator of the Year in Economics and Finance” by the Georgia Association of Economics and Finance in 1993-94.

  • Dr. Pamela Gore, professor of geology at DeKalb College. Gore is best known for her rapid adoption of the latest technology for teaching geology students. Using GSAMS, she teaches at both DeKalb’s Clarkston and Lawrenceville campuses. Gore created an innovative on-line course called Georgia Geoscience Online, which is a model technology-supported physical and historical geology course sequence which incorporates web-based course notes, classroom teaching via GSAMS and communication with students via e-mail.

The departments and programs which received recognition included:

  • The Department of Educational Psychology & Special Education at Georgia State University. This department, composed of 23 faculty members, offers the most comprehensive special education program in the state. The department was recognized for its strong commitment to learning as reflected in the faculty’s teaching, scholarship and research, interactions with students and their service and outreach activities.

  • The Pathways to Teaching Careers program at Armstrong Atlantic State University. This program aims to increase the number of certified teachers, particularly minorities, in the Savannah-Chatham county area. Armstrong Atlantic State University, Savannah State University and the Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools all participate in the program, which offers tuition and other support to non-certified school district employee, so that they can earn degrees leading to teacher certification. Of the 40 students who have completed the program to date, 30% are African-American males and 57.5% are African-American females. The program has received national recognition; in 1997 it was selected for an Innovations in American Government Award through Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government and the Ford Foundation.

  • The Mathematics Program at DeKalb College. This department, in existence since 1964, was cited for addressing the needs of students by developing curricula and pioneering the use of technology best suited to meet those needs while maintaining academic integrity. Faculty in the program work together to revitalize instruction to offer real-world examples in course work. They also shape stimulating lessons and practical individual and group projects, including technology-enhanced presentations.

« News Releases