University System of Georgia

Academic Affairs Division

Advisory Committees

Valdosta State University

« BACK to Institution List

Academic Committees

Committee Name Representative Contact Information
Academic Advising

Rob Freidhoff

rcfreidhoff@valdosta.edu
Academic Affairs

Dr. Robert Smith

rtsmith@valdosta.edu
229-333-5950
Adult Learning

Chris Melody

lcmelody@valdosta.edu
Anthropology

Darrell Ross

dross@Valdosta.edu
Arts and Sciences

James LaPlant

jlaplant@valdosta.edu
Biological Sciences

Bob Gannon

rlgannon@valdosta.edu
Business Administration, Management, & Economics

Wayne Plumly

lwplumly@valdosta.edu
Chemistry

James T. Baxter

jbaxter@valdosta.edu
Communication

Mark Borzi, Past-Chair

mgborzi@valdosta.edu
Computing Disciplines

Krishnendu Roy

kroy@valdosta.edu
Criminal Justice

Darrell Ross

dross@valdosta.edu
Distance Education

Marsha Dukes

mbdukes@valdosta.edu
eCore

Marsha Dukes

mbdukes@valdosta.edu
Educator Preparation

Karla Hull

khull@valdosta.edu
Educator Preparation

Kate Warner

kwarner@valdosta.edu
Effectiveness and Accreditation

Michael M. Black, Treasurer

mmblack@valdosta.edu
English

Donna Sewell

dsewell@valdosta.edu
Environmental Science

Don Thieme

dmthieme@valdosta.edu
Fine and Applied Arts

A. Blake Pearce

apearce@valdosta.edu
Foreign Languages

Ofelia Nikolova

ornikolova@valdosta.edu
Geological Sciences and Geography

Edward E. Chatelain

echatela@valdosta.edu
Geological Sciences and Geography

Jia Lu

jlu@valdosta.edu
Health Professions

LaGary Carter

bncarter@valdosta.edu
History

Barney J. Rickman

bjrickma@valdosta.edu
Humanities

Mark Smith

marksmit@valdosta.edu
Kinesiology (formerly PEHER)

Eugene Asola

efasola@valdosta.edu
Learning Support

Ryan Hogan

rmhogan@valdosta.edu
Libraries

Alan Bernstein
University Librarian
RACL Executive Committee, At-Large (Exp. 6/2018)

abernste@valdosta.edu
229-333-5870
Mathematical Subjects

Shaun Ault

svault@valdosta.edu
Nursing

Michelle Ritter

mewingbr@valdosta.edu
Philosophy & Religion

Christine James

chjames@valdosta.edu
Philosophy & Religion

Fred Downing

fldowning@valdosta.edu
Physics and Astronomy

Edward E. Chatelain

echatela@valdosta.edu
Political Science

Joseph Robbins

jwrobbins@valdosta.edu
Psychology

Blaine Browne

blbrowne@valdosta.edu
Public Service and Continuing Education

Suzanne Ewing

sewing@valdosta.edu
Regents Engineering Pathways

Barry Hojjatie

bhojjati@valdosta.edu
Social Work

Michael Sanger

msanger@valdosta.edu
Sociology

Darrell Ross

dross@valdosta.edu
Testing Professionals

Rebecca Taylor

rltaylor@valdosta.edu
Transfer Officers

Sheri Gravett

sgravett@valdosta.edu

Administrative Committees

Committee Name Representative Contact Information
Admissions Directors

Ryan Hogan
Director of Admissions

rhogan@valdosta.edu
229-333-5791
Campus Health Services

Nicole Foster
Interim Health Center Manager

ndflannery@valdosta.edu
229-219-3200
Career Services & Cooperative Education

Gerald Willams
Director

gewilliams@valdosta.edu
229-333-5942
Community Engagement & Service

Niki Turley
Associate Dean/Director of Student Leadership & Service

nwturley@valdosta.edu
229-293-6203
Community Engagement & Service

Michaela Connors

maconnors@valdosta.edu
229-253-4270
Counseling Directors Association

Tricia Hale
Director of Counseling Center

tahale@valdosta.edu
229-333-5940
Dean of Students

Vince Miller
Vice President for Student Affairs

vmiller@valdosta.edu
229-333-5941
Disability Services

Sonja Wirght-Smith
Director, Access Office

slwrightsmith@valdosta.edu
229-245-2498
Economic Development

Phil Allen

pdallen@valdosta.edu
Enrollment Management

Rodney Carr
Vice President of Student Success

rodneycarr@valdosta.edu
229-259-2586
Housing & Residence Life

Zduy Chu
Director of Housing & Residence Life

zchu@valdosta.edu
229-333-5920
Institutional Research & Planning

Barrie Fitzgerald

bdfitzgerald@valdosta.edu
Military Outreach Coordinator

Jerry Merwin

gamerwin@valdosta.edu
229-333-5776/5910
Registrars

Stanley Jones
Registrar

sjones@valdosta.edu
229-333-5732
Student Accounts Receivable

Debra McCrary
Bursar
After 5/29/2020
Lisa Parrish
Bursar

dgmccrary@valdosta.edu
laparrish@valdosta.edu
229-333-5725
Student Activities and Student Life

Robin Vickery
Director of Student Life / Union

rvickery@valdosta.edu
229-333-5674
Student Affairs

Vince Miller
Vice President for Student Affairs

vincemiller@valdosta.edu
229-333-5941
Student Conduct

Sherolyn Hopkins
Assistant Dean of Students

sshopkins@valdosta.edu
229-333-5941
Student Financial Aid

Doug Tanner
Financial Aid Director

dtanner@valdosta.edu
229-333-5935

Other Committees

Committee Name Representative Contact Information
Dual Enrollment Contacts

Admissions & Advisement
Sarah Bessenger
Dual Enrollment Admissions Coordinator

Admissions & Advisement
Jamie Bird
Dual Enrollment Coordinator

sebessenger@valdosta.edu
229-253-4522


jbird@valdosta.edu
229-333-5791 or 229-249-2779
Foster and Homeless Youth Support Contacts

Niki Turley
Associate Dean of Students

nwturley@valdosta.edu
229-333-5941
SAVE Program Contacts

Lisa Long
Associate Director of Admissions

lhlong@valdosta.edu
229-333-5791
Student Advisory Council

Vince Miller
Vice President for Student Affairs

vincemiller@valdosta.edu
229-333-5941
Tuition Classification Officers

Ryan Hogan
Associate Director of Admissions

rmhogan@valdosta.edu
229-333-5791
Tuition Classification Officers

Stanley Jones
Registrar

sjones@valdosta.edu
229-333-5732
USG Retiree Council

Dennis Marks

dmarks@valdosta.edu
Veteran Certifying Officials

Sandra DiPietro

sfdipietro@valdosta.edu
229-333-5935
↑ Top