University System of Georgia

Academic Affairs Division

Advisory Committees

Columbus State University

« BACK to Institution List

Academic Committees

Committee Name Representative Contact Information
Academic Advising

Lisa Shaw

shaw_lisa@columbusstate.edu
Academic Affairs

Dr. Deborah Bordelon

bordelon_deborah@columbusstate.edu
706-568-8968
Adult Learning

Lisa Shaw

shaw_lisa@columbusstate.edu
Anthropology

Warren Church

church_warren@columbusstate.edu
Arts and Sciences

Annice Yarber-Allen

yarberallen_annice@columbusstate.edu
Biological Sciences

Julie Ballenger

Ballenger_julie@columbusstate.edu
Business Administration, Management, & Economics

Linda Hadley

hadley_linda@columbusstate.edu
Chemistry

Floyd Jackson

jackson_floyd@columbusstate.edu
Communication

Danna Gibson

gibson_danna@columbusstate.edu
Computing Disciplines

Shamim Khan

khan_shamim@columbusstate.edu
Criminal Justice

Dorinda Dowis, Immediate Past-Chair

dowis_dorinda@columbusstate.edu
Distance Education

Jennifer Knott

knott_jennifer@columbusstate.edu
eCore

Timothy Howard

howard_timothy@columbusstate.edu
Educator Preparation

Deirdre Greer, CHAIR

greer_deirdre@columbusstate.edu
Effectiveness and Accreditation

Tim Howard

thoward@columbusstate.edu
English

Judy Livingston

livingston_judith@columbusstate.edu
Environmental Science

Troy Keller

keller_troy@columbusstate.edu
Fine and Applied Arts

Clarence “Earl” Coleman

coleman_clarence@columbusstate.edu
Foreign Languages

Joelle Bonamy

bonamy_joelle@columbusstate.edu
Geological Sciences and Geography

David R. Schwimmer

schwimmer_david@columbusstate.edu
Geological Sciences and Geography

Amanda Rees

rees_amanda@columbusstate.edu
Georgia Film Academy Film Production

Ron Williams

williams_ronald4@columbusstate.edu
Georgia Film Academy Film Production

Deborah Bordelon

bordelon_deborah@columbusstate.edu
Georgia Film Academy Film Production

Danna Gibson

gibson_danna@columbusstate.edu
Georgia Film Academy Film Production

Tim Howard

thoward@columbusstate.edu
Health Informatics Programs

Tammy Condrey

condrey_tamara@columbusstate.edu
Health Professions

Erica Taylor

taylor_erica2@columbusstate.edu
History

Doug Tompson

tompson_doug@columbusstate.edu
Humanities

Gary Sprayberry

sprayberry_gary@columbusstate.edu
Kinesiology (formerly PEHER)

Clayton Nicks, CHAIR

nicks_clayton@columbusstate.edu
Learning Support

Melody Shumaker

shumaker_melody@columbusstate.edu
Mathematical Subjects

Ben Kamau

kamau_ben@columbusstate.edu
Nursing

Janet Alexander

alexander_janet@columbusstate.edu
Philosophy & Religion

David Wisdo

wisdo_david@columbusstate.edu
Physics and Astronomy

Kimberly Shaw

shaw_kimberly@columbusstate.edu
Political Science

Kimberly Gill

gill_kimberly1@columbusstate.edu
Psychology

Mark Schmidt

schmidt_mark@columbusstate.edu
Public Health

Dr. Ron Williams

williams_ronald4@columbusstate.edu
Public Health

Dr. Aaron “Chip” Reese

reese_aaron@columbusstate.edu
Public Health

Dr. Deborah Bordelon

bordelon_deborah@columbusstate.edu
Public Service and Continuing Education

Susan Wirt

wirt_susan@columbusstate.edu
Public Service and Continuing Education

Samantha Gurski

millergurski_samantha@columbusstate.edu
Regents Engineering Pathways

Abiye Seifu

seifu_abiye@columbusstate.edu
Social Work

Annice Yarber-Allen

yarberallen_annice@columbusstate.edu
Sociology

Rik Newtson

newtson_richard@columbusstate.edu
Testing Professionals

Camille Hassenplug

hassenplug_camille@columbusstate.edu
Transfer Officers

Timothy Howard

howard_timothy@columbusstate.edu

Administrative Committees

Committee Name Representative Contact Information
Admissions Directors

Gary Bush
Executive Director of Admissions

bush_gary@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8827
Campus Health Services

Victoria Roebuck
Interim Director

roebuck_victoria@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8620
Career Services & Cooperative Education

Mariko Izumi

izumi_mariko@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8635
Community Engagement & Service

Anne Brown

AVB@ColumbusState.edu
706-507-8760
Counseling Directors Association

Dan Rose
Director, The Counseling Center

rose_dan@columbusstate.edu
706-568-2233
Dean of Students

John McElveen
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs & Dean of Students

mcelveen_john@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8845
Disability Services

Lauren Jones McKown
Director, Center for Accommodation & Access

jones_lauren3@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8757
Economic Development

Ed Helton

helton_ed@columbusstate.edu
Enrollment Management

Sallie McMullin
Associate Vice President Enrollment Management

mcmullin_sallie@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8737
Housing & Residence Life

Sarah Secoy
Director of Residence Life

secoy_sarah@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8710
Institutional Research & Planning

Sri Sitharaman

sitharaman_sridhar@columbusstate.edu
Learning Disorders

Gina Sheeks
Vice President for Student Affairs

sheeks_gina@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8730
Military Outreach Coordinator

Susan Lovell
Director of Military and Adult Learners

lovell_susan@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8806
Registrars

Stephanie Speer
Registrar

speer_stephanie@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8884
Student Accounts Receivable

Donna Ogle
Director of Student Services & Budget Analysis

ogle_donna@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8862
Student Accounts Receivable

Marla Smith
Associate Bursar

smith_marla@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8858
Student Activities and Student Life

Melissa Dempsey
Director of Student Life and Development

dempsey_melissa1@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8732
Student Affairs

Gina Sheeks
Vice President for Student Affairs

sheeks_gina@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8730
Student Conduct

Dana Larkin
Assistant Dean of Students

larkin_dana@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8333
Student Conduct

John P. McElveen
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

mcelveen_john@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8845
Student Financial Aid

Stephanie Lawrence
Financial Aid Director

lawrence_stephanie@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8800

Other Committees

Committee Name Representative Contact Information
Dual Enrollment Contacts

Admissions
Kelsey Gillette Admission Specialist

Advisement
Jay Davis
Academic Advisor/Retention Specialist

Advisement
Melissa Young
Dual Enrollment Coordinator

gillette_kelsey@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8856


davis_thomas2@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8785


young_melissa@columbusstate.edu
706-565-1316

Foster and Homeless Youth Support Contacts

Lisa Shaw
Director, Academic Center for Excellence

shaw_lisa@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8787
SAVE Program Contacts

Viola Alexander- Sr.
Associate Director of Admissions

alexander_viola@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8826
Tuition Classification Officers

Viola Alexander
Director of Admissions

alexander_viola@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8894
USG Retiree Council

Dutchie Riggsby
George Stanton
(Chair, non-voting)

riggsby_dutchie@columbusstate.edu

stanton_george@columbusstate.edu
Veteran Certifying Officials

Susan Lovell

lovell_susan@columbusstate.edu
706-507-8806
↑ Top