is mobile


Gordon College Presidential Search Committee Named

Print friendly

Atlanta — November 8, 2010

Regent Jim Jolly, who will chair the Special Regents’ Search Committee and Robert Watts, University System of Georgia (USG) senior vice chancellor and chief operating officer, gave the newly appointed Gordon College Campus Presidential Search and Screen Committee its charge today as they begin the national search for the next president.

The nine-member Presidential Search and Screen Committee will develop a position description, place announcements in appropriate national media and conduct on-campus interviews. Members of the Presidential Search and Screen Committee are as follows:

  • Dr. Don Butts (search committee chair), professor of history;

  • Dr. Joan Cranford, division chair of nursing;

  • Dr. Theresa Stanley, professor of biology;

  • Dr. Rhonda Wilcox, professor of English;

  • Dr. Kelly McMurray, director of Institutional Research;

  • Lee Fruitticher, vice president of Business Affairs;

  • George Hightower, president of the Gordon College Foundation;

  • Don Neuner, president of the Gordon College Alumni Association; and

  • Samantha Skurja, president, Student Government Association.

The campus-based committee will forward the credentials of up to five unranked candidates to the Special Regents’ Search Committee for the second phase. Joining Jolly on the Regents’ Committee will be Regents Don Leebern serving as vice-chair, Fred Cooper, Thomas Hopkins and Willis Potts. Chancellor Erroll Davis Jr. will serve as an ex officio member of the Regents Committee. This committee is responsible for recommending finalists to Davis, who will make a recommendation to the full Board of Regents.

« News Releases

Media Contact

John Millsaps
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Browse Releases by Category