Georgia State University

University System of Georgia


Georgia State is one of the nation’s leading urban research universities and the only one in Georgia. It is internationally recognized as the leader in introducing advanced technology, programs and initiatives that foster student success.

The university has raised its graduation rates by 62 percent since 2010. It confers degrees to more African Americans and minorities than any other institution in the country and has eliminated the achievement gap, proving students from all backgrounds can excel at the same high levels.

Georgia State has been ranked the nation’s No. 1 public university for excellence in undergraduate teaching by U.S. News & World Report magazine. The magazine also has rated Georgia State the No. 2 most innovative university in the U.S.

Its Atlanta Campus, in the heart of the city, provides students and faculty with close access to Fortune 500 corporations, government offices, nonprofit organizations and professional firms. Georgia State’s educational philosophy combines classroom instruction with practical workplace experiences.

Georgia State’s consolidation in 2016 with Georgia Perimeter College, a two-year institution with five campuses in metro Atlanta, raised its student population to more than 50,000, making it the largest university in Georgia and one of the largest in the nation. Georgia State’s Perimeter College operates campuses in Alpharetta, Decatur, Dunwoody, Clarkston and Newton, serving more than 18,000 students.

With students from more than 150 different countries and every U.S. state, Georgia State is one of the nation’s most diverse higher education institutions.

The university offers more than 250 majors, minors and pathways — the widest variety of fields of study in Georgia. It offers full- and part-time programs and day, evening and weekend classes.

Georgia State has become one of the nation’s fastest-growing research institutions, having increased its research expenditures by 153 percent in the last decade.

The university comprises 12 major academic units: the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing & Health Professions, the College of the Arts, the College of Arts & Sciences, the College of Education & Human Development, the College of Law, the Graduate School, the Honors College, the Institute for Biomedical Sciences, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, Perimeter College and the School of Public Health.

The university’s 16 varsity athletic programs compete in the NCAA’s Division 1.

Georgia State University