University System of Georgia

Academics Affairs

Academic Committee: Council on General Education
(Last Modified October 9, 2020)

« Advisory Committees

Upcoming Meetings 2020 - 2021

All dates are subject to change.

Meeting Date: December 11, 2020
Proposal Submission Date: November 6, 2020

Meeting Date: February 26, 2021
Proposal Submission Date: January 22, 2021

Meeting Date: May 14, 2021
Proposal Submission Date: April 9, 2020

Note: The Board of Regents approved the principles for redesign of General Education in September 2019. Due to the impact of COVID-19, these processes are currently on hold. The Council on General Education continues to consider proposals/changes under the existing policies pending further action by the Board of Regents. Approval for the current core does not guarantee approval under the Redesigned General Education Curriculum. Institutions should take this information into account when proposing new courses or curriculum modifications.

Link to download forms to submit proposals

Committee Directory

Institution Representative Contact Information

Augusta University

Dr. Christopher Terry
Assistant Chair, Department of Mathematics
Augusta University Representative

cterry2@augusta.edu
706-667-4476

BOR University System Office

Dr. Barbara Brown
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Transitional and General Education
USG Liaison

barbara.brown@usg.edu
404-962-3107

Clayton State University

Dr. Kevin Demmitt
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
eCore Representative

kevindemmitt@clayton.edu
678-466-4111

Dalton State College

Dr. Sarah Mergel
Professor of History
Social Science Representative

smergel@daltonstate.edu
706-272-2675

East Georgia State College

Dr. Robert Boehmer, CHAIR
President

bboehmer@ega.edu
478-289-2027

East Georgia State College

Dr. Carmine D. Palumbo
Professor of English
Humanities Representative

cpalumbo@ega.edu
478-289-2046

Georgia College and State University

Dr. Ken McGill
Professor of Chemistry and Physics
Science Representative

ken.mcgill@gcsu.edu
478-445-5271

Georgia Gwinnett College

Dr. Alvina Atkinson
Professor of Mathematics Director of the GGC STEM Academy
Mathematics Representative

aatkinso@ggc.edu
678-360-5908

Georgia Institute of Technology

Dr. Colin Potts
Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
Georgia Tech Representative

colin.potts@gatech.edu
404-894-5551

Georgia Southwestern State University

Dr. Bryan Davis
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
RACEA Representative

Bryan.davis@gsw.edu
229-931-5140

Georgia State University

Dr. Allison Calhoun-Brown
Vice President for Student Engagement & Programs
Georgia State University Representative

acalhounbrown@gsu.edu
404-413-2067

Georgia State University

Ms. Carol Cohen
Assistant Vice President for University Advising
Learning Support Representative

ccohen1@gsu.edu
404-413-2302

South Georgia State College

Dr. Robert Page
Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
State College Representative

Robert.Page@sgsc.edu
912-260-4203

University of Georgia

Dr. William K. Vencill
Associate Vice President for Instruction
UGA Representative

wvencill@uga.edu
706-542-9575

University of North Georgia

Dr. Pamela Sachant
Head, Department of Visual Arts
Fine Arts Representative

pamela.sachant@ung.edu
706-864-1512

University of West Georgia

Dr. David Jenks
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs (Interim)
State and Comprehensive University Representative

djenks@westga.edu
678-839-6445
↑ Top