University System of Georgia

Academics Affairs

Academic Committee: Council on General Education
(Last Modified March 9, 2021)

« Advisory Committees

Upcoming Meetings for the Remainder of 2020-2021 and for 2021-2022

All dates are subject to change.

Meeting Date: May 21, 2021
Proposal Submission Date: April 16, 2021

Meeting Date: July 16, 2021
Proposal submission date: June 11, 2021

Meeting Date: October 8, 2021
Proposal submission date: September 3, 2021

Meeting Date: December 10, 2021
Proposal submission date: November 5, 2021

Meeting Date: February 25, 2022
Proposal submission date: January 21, 2022

Meeting Date: May 20, 2022
Proposal submission date: April 15, 2022

Meeting Date: July 15, 2022
Proposal submission date: June 10, 2022

Note: The Board of Regents approved the principles for redesign of General Education in September 2019. Due to the impact of COVID-19, these processes are currently on hold. The Council on General Education continues to consider proposals/changes under the existing policies pending further action by the Board of Regents. Approval for the current core does not guarantee approval under the Redesigned General Education Curriculum. Institutions should take this information into account when proposing new courses or curriculum modifications.

Link to download forms to submit proposals

Committee Directory

Institution Representative Contact Information

Augusta University

Dr. Christopher Terry
Assistant Chair, Department of Mathematics
Augusta University Representative

cterry2@augusta.edu
706-667-4476

BOR University System Office

Dr. Barbara Brown
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Transitional and General Education
USG Liaison

barbara.brown@usg.edu
404-962-3107

Clayton State University

Dr. Kevin Demmitt
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
eCore Representative

kevindemmitt@clayton.edu
678-466-4111

Columbus State University

Dr. Michelle DeBruyn
Professor, Schwob School of Music
Fine Arts Representative

debruyn_michelle@columbusstate.edu
706-649-1157

Dalton State College

Dr. Sarah Mergel
Professor of History
Social Science Representative

smergel@daltonstate.edu
706-272-2675

East Georgia State College

Dr. Carmine D. Palumbo
Professor of English
Humanities Representative

cpalumbo@ega.edu
478-289-2046

Georgia College and State University

Dr. Ken McGill
Professor of Chemistry and Physics
Science Representative

ken.mcgill@gcsu.edu
478-445-5271

Georgia Gwinnett College

Dr. Alvina Atkinson
Professor of Mathematics Director of the GGC STEM Academy
Mathematics Representative

aatkinso@ggc.edu
678-360-5908

Georgia Gwinnett College

Dr. Jann Joseph, CHAIR
President

jljoseph@ggc.edu
678.407.5009

Georgia Institute of Technology

Dr. Steven Girardot
Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
Georgia Tech Representative

steven.girardot@gatech.edu
404-385-0597

Georgia Southern University

Dr. Carl Reiber
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
State and Comprehensive University Representative

creiber@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5258

Georgia Southwestern State University

Dr. Bryan Davis
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
RACEA Representative

Bryan.davis@gsw.edu
229-931-1361

Georgia State University

Dr. Allison Calhoun-Brown
Senior Vice President for Student Success
Georgia State University Representative

acalhounbrown@gsu.edu
404-413-2067

Georgia State University

Ms. Carol Cohen
Assistant Vice President for University Advising
Learning Support Representative

ccohen1@gsu.edu
404-413-2302

South Georgia State College

Dr. Robert Page
Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
State College Representative

Robert.Page@sgsc.edu
912-260-4203

University of Georgia

Dr. William K. Vencill
Associate Vice President for Instruction
UGA Representative

wvencill@uga.edu
706-542-9575
↑ Top