The central communications/public information operation for the USG

USG Raises Close to $1 million for Need-Based Scholarships

Atlanta — March 7, 2018

Portrait thumbnail

The 14th annual Regents’ Scholarship Gala held Friday, March 2, successfully raised close to $1 million to promote, support, and provide need-based scholarships for students at the University System of Georgia’s 26 institutions.

Through the leadership and direction of University System of Georgia Foundation Chairman, Regent Philip Wilheit, the entire Foundation Board and the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia (USG), the annual gala supporting need-based aid completed another successful year.

“The gala serves as a reminder of the kind of progress that can be made when the forces of philanthropy and positive leadership come together,” said Regent Wilheit. “It’s the students who ultimately benefit and helping them succeed is the heart of everything we do.”

The Regents’ Scholarship Gala honors faculty, alumni and an individual or couple who exemplify true leadership and support of higher education in Georgia.

Each year, the USG Foundation presents the Regent Elridge McMillan Award to an individual or couple who has demonstrated a long and significant record of commitment and accomplishment on behalf of public higher education in Georgia. This is the highest honor the USG Foundation bestows. The 2018 Elridge McMillan Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Billye and Henry “Hank” Aaron.

Gov. Nathan Deal presented the award onstage to Mrs. Aaron. Also onstage for the presentation were, Regent Wilheit, Elridge McMillan and USG Chancellor Steve Wrigley. Mr. Aaron wasn’t able to attend in person and sent in a video of his acceptance that was shared at the event.

Six USG faculty members were honored as the 2018 recipients of the Felton Jenkins Jr. Hall of Fame Faculty Award, including:

  • Bagie George, Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Betta Vice, Georgia College & State University
  • Jeffrey R. Young, Georgia State University
  • Audrey Haynes, University of Georgia
  • Rebecca E. Burnett, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Jody Leigh Langdon, Georgia Southern University

The Foundation also recognized the recipients of the Regents Hall of Fame Alumni and Distinguished Friends Award, including:

  • Chantal and Tommy Bagwell, nominated by Kennesaw State University
  • Ann and Thomas G. Cousins, nominated by the University of Georgia
  • William A. Crider Jr., nominated by South Georgia State College
  • Carolyn Jernigan Glenn, nominated by Albany State University

The annual Regents’ Scholarship Gala included individuals from the USG’s 26 institutions, as well as supporters, donors, alumni and businesses.

« News Releases