External Affairs Division

Regents honor scholars from each institution during Academic Recognition Day

Atlanta — February 11, 2020

Academic Recognition Day honorees

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia (USG) honored 26 students who best represent the system’s highest scholastic ideals during Academic Recognition Day activities Feb. 11. Each of the system’s institutions selected a student with a 4.0 GPA who also reflects the system’s best qualities. They aim to strive for excellence and have the ability to share knowledge in various areas of expertise.

Academic Recognition Day began 32 years ago as a celebration of Georgia students’ academic achievement. The honorees receive a resolution from the Georgia House of Representatives along with a letter of commendation from USG Chancellor Steve Wrigley. The 2020 honorees are as follows:

  • Abby A. Unger - Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
  • Scott Dawson, Jr. - Albany State University
  • Rhonda Echols - Atlanta Metropolitan State College
  • Jordan Alexander Hendricks - Augusta University
  • Tiffany Jones Barker - Clayton State University
  • Raymond Tyler Parks - College of Coastal Georgia
  • Samantha Thompson - Columbus State University
  • Nancy Avila De Welles - Dalton State College
  • Susanna Hall - East Georgia State College
  • Erica L. Holland - Fort Valley State University
  • Cameron James Watts - Georgia College & State University
  • Elizabeth A. Roth - Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Haydn McCary Turner - Georgia Highlands College
  • Daniel Gurevich - Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Zakiya Daniel - Georgia Southern University
  • Taylor Weeks - Georgia Southwestern State University
  • Thach Jenny Hong Pham - Georgia State University
  • Hannah Rutledge - Gordon State College
  • Ruth Bearden - Kennesaw State University
  • Logan M. Gibbs - Middle Georgia State University
  • J’Zaria Simpson - Savannah State University
  • Alana Grace Atkinson - South Georgia State College
  • Chip Chambers - University of Georgia
  • John Blessing - University of North Georgia
  • Sarah Lynn Gross - University of West Georgia
  • Danielle E. Spivey - Valdosta State University

In his letter of commendation, Chancellor Wrigley congratulated the honorees but also focused on the magnitude of the students’ efforts. “Education has an intrinsic worth, but your accomplishment is about more than just that,” he said. “You have seized the opportunity to build upon an incredibly valuable time in your life and lay a foundation for success far beyond your chosen field of study.”

« News Releases