The central communications/public information operation for the USG

Regents approve new names for two remaining consolidating institutions

Atlanta — August 7, 2012

As of today there are now new names for all four new institutions being created as a result of the consolidation of eight current colleges and universities in the University System of Georgia. The Board of Regents approved today names for the final two pairs of consolidating institutions, following earlier action in May on names for the other two pairs.

The Board approved the name South Georgia State College for the consolidated institutions of South Georgia College (Douglas) and Waycross College (Waycross) and Georgia Regents University for the consolidation in Augusta of Augusta State University and Georgia Health Sciences University.

The new names will be effective upon the new institutions receiving approval by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) and the Board of Regents in January 2013.

“While a tremendous amount of work and effort is underway as we create new institutions through the consolidation process, the name is a powerful symbol that will give focus and direction to the process,” said Shelley Nickel, associate vice chancellor for Planning and Implementation in presenting the proposed names to the Board.

Nickel outlined to the Board the extensive process followed by the consolidation working groups to solicit from sources in local communities and on the four campuses both information and suggestions. In the case of Augusta, the working group also used the services of the A.L. Burruss Institute of Public Service and Research at Kennesaw State University to conduct national opinion research.

The effort resulted in the development and final submission to the regents the top name recommendations of the consolidation working groups.

In May, the board approved the name University of North Georgia for the new institution created through the consolidation of North Georgia College & State University in Dahlonega and Gainesville State College as well as the name Middle Georgia State College for the consolidation of Middle Georgia College in Cochran and Macon State College.

« News Releases