The central communications/public information operation for the USG

GPC – Georgia State Consolidation Implementation Committee Appointed

Atlanta — January 28, 2015

University System of Georgia (USG) Chancellor Hank Huckaby has appointed the Georgia Perimeter College (GPC) - Georgia State University Consolidation Implementation Committee. The committee will have its first meeting at the USG System Office on Friday, Jan. 30.

The committee will provide regular updates to the campus communities. Information about the proposed consolidation is available at

The members of the Consolidation Implementation Committee are:

Georgia Perimeter College Members

GPC President Rob Watts
India Blackburn, Assistant Dean of Students, Alpharetta Campus
Dr. John Clower, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs
Debra Denzer, Associate Professor and Chair of the GPC Faculty Senate
Jamie Fernandes, Assistant Vice President for Financial and Administrative Affairs/Budget Director
Dr. Susan Finazzo, Associate Professor, Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, and SACS Liaison
Dr. Sheila Garland, Associate Professor and Dean of Health Sciences
Scott Hardy, Chair, GPC Alumni Association
Todd Hendricks, Associate Professor and Chair of the Promotion and Tenure Committee
Diane Hickey, Associate Vice President for Financial and Administrative Affairs
Mark Hoeting, Assistant Vice President/Chief Information Officer
Dr. Paul Hudson, Professor and Recipient of the 2014 Governor’s Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Humanities
Kara Kennebrew, Chair of the GPC Staff Senate
Barbara Obrentz, Chief Public Information Officer and Director of Marketing
Dan O’Leary, Chair of the GPC Foundation
Sri Rajasekaran, Student Government Association President, Newton Campus
Jim Rasmus, Executive Director of Human Resources
Sally Robertson, Associate Professor, Immediate Past Chair of the GPC Faculty Senate, Current Chair of the University System of Georgia Faculty Council
Jeff Tarnowski, Vice President for Advancement
Dr. Ingrid Thompson-Sellers, Associate Professor and Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs
Julius Whitaker, Executive Director of Library Services and Interim Director of Policy and Governance

Georgia State University Members

Georgia State President Mark Becker
Dr. Nathan Bennett, Associate Dean for Faculty & Research, Robinson College of Business
Dr. Gwen Benson, Associate Dean for School, Community & International Partnerships, College of Education
Dr. Allison Calhoun-Brown, Assistant Vice President for Student Retention
Dr. Sara Cook, Associate Dean, Honors College
Dr. Joan Cranford, Director, School of Nursing (Interim)
Dr. Dabney Dixon, Chair, University Senate Committee on Sustainability
Dr. Jonathan Gayles, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Learning, College of Arts & Sciences
Charles Gilbreath, Chair Staff Council, Director of Institutional Research (OIR)
Lanier Henson, President SGA
Dr. Darryl Holloman, Dean of Students
Andrea Jones, Associate Vice President for Public Relations and Marketing Communications
Dr. Peter Lyons, Professor and Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
Bharath Parthasarathy, J.D., Deputy General Counsel
Dr. George Rainbolt, Chair, University Senate Committee on Planning & Development
Russell Dylan Ruediger, Graduate Student Representative
Bruce Spratt, Associate Vice President for Finance and Comptroller
Tammy Sugarman, Dean of Libraries (Interim)
Phil Ventimiglia, Chief Innovation Officer
Dr. Mary Beth Walker, Dean, Andrew Young School of Policy Studies
Dr. Sara Weigle, Chair, University Senate Committee on Admissions & Standards

« News Releases