University System of Georgia

The central communications/public information operation for the USG

Georgia Tech Presidential Search Committee Named

Atlanta — July 11, 2008

Richard Tucker, chair of the Board of Regents for the University System of Georgia (USG), announced today the appointment of the Georgia Institute of Technology Presidential Search Committee.

A national search will be conducted to replace Georgia Tech President G. Wayne Clough, who stepped down on June 30 to become the 12th Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C. Clough served as Georgia Tech’s president since 1994.

Tucker announced the membership of the Search Committee, which will guide the first stage of the search. USG Chancellor Erroll B. Davis Jr. and the Board of Regents are currently evaluating national higher education executive recruiters to aid in the search. Susan Herbst, USG executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer, will schedule an initial meeting within the coming weeks, at which time the members will be formally charged with their roles and responsibilities in conducting the search.

Members of the Presidential Search Committee are as follows:

  • Regent Willis Potts, committee chair
  • Regent Hugh Carter
  • Regent Mansfield Jennings
  • Regent Jim Jolly
  • Regent Don Leebern
  • Regent Elridge McMillan
  • Regent Ben Tarbutton
  • Regent Richard Tucker
  • Dr. Gisele Bennett, professor, Georgia Tech Research Institute
  • Dr. Thomas Boston, professor, School of Economics
  • Dr. Steven French, professor, College of Architecture
  • Dr. Don Giddens, Dean, College of Engineering
  • Dr. Gary May, professor, College of Engineering
  • Dr. Sandra Slaughter, professor, College of Management
  • Dr. Jeffrey Wu, professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Mr. Herky Harris, Georgia Tech Foundation chair
  • Mr. Darryl Richard, MBA Student, Athlete, and Member of the Georgia Tech All-Academic Team
  • Mr. Joe Rogers, Waffle House
  • Mr. Bill Todd, Georgia Tech Alumni Association chair
  • Mr. Chris Young, Georgia Department of Economic Development
« News Releases