External Affairs Division

Board of Regents Finalizes Consolidations

Atlanta — December 12, 2017

Today, the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia (USG) granted final approval for the creation of two new institutions through consolidation. Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University will be consolidated as the new Georgia Southern University. Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College and Bainbridge State College will be consolidated as the new Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College (ABAC). The board approved resolutions making both consolidations effective Jan. 1, 2018.

The consolidation of these institutions is expected to enable the University System to better serve students, broaden and redesign academic programs offered in the southeast and south Georgia regions and reinvest savings into academics to improve student success. Through consolidation, the USG and these institutions seek to better support their surrounding communities by strategically aligning degree offerings with institutional talents and regional needs.

“The University System of Georgia is committed to serving the southeast and south Georgia regions of our state, and we view these consolidations as long-term investments,” said Chancellor Steve Wrigley. “The new Georgia Southern University and the new Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College are well positioned to increase college attainment levels in these areas of the state. We will continue to work toward ensuring the success of our students, faculty and staff in partnership with our local communities.”

“Each of these consolidations was unique but shared common goals: improving outcomes for students and better serving the education and workforce needs of their respective regions,” said USG Vice Chancellor for Organizational Effectiveness John Fuchko III. “We are very grateful for the leadership of our presidents, faculty, staff, and students at each campus as they did the hard work to complete these consolidations.”

The board’s action today follows the recent approval by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) of the Georgia Southern University and Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College consolidation plans.

With the board’s action, Georgia Southern University and ABAC will begin operating as new institutions with expanded missions and degree offerings. Wrigley announced his recommendation for the consolidations in January.

With the completion of the consolidations, the number of institutions in the University System of Georgia is reduced from 28 to 26. Prior to the launch of the consolidation initiative in 2011, the University System of Georgia was comprised of 35 colleges and universities.

« News Releases