The central communications/public information operation for the USG

Board of Regents Finalizes Consolidation of Georgia State University and Georgia Perimeter College

Atlanta — January 6, 2016

Today, the Board of Regents granted final approval to the creation of the new Georgia State University from the consolidation of Georgia State University and Georgia Perimeter College (GPC).

The Georgia State and GPC consolidation presents an opportunity to create a modern, urban university that balances the needs for access as well as research and public service.

Dr. Mark Becker, current president of Georgia State, will serve as president of the newly consolidated Georgia State University.

“We are keenly focused on access and college completion,” said University System Chancellor Hank Huckaby. “The new Georgia State University will continue to expand upon its successes in these areas for students beyond the downtown campus, throughout metropolitan Atlanta.”

The board’s action today follows the Dec. 2015 required approval by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) of the Georgia State consolidation plans.

With the Board action, Georgia State begins operating as the new institution with an expanded mission and new college focused on associate degree programs. “The University System has now consolidated 12 institutions into six as we continue to focus on the success of students,” said USG Vice Chancellor for Fiscal Affairs and Planning Shelley Nickel. “With consolidation, we are amplifying the best of both institutions to better serve students, the community and the state.”

Huckaby announced his recommendation for the Georgia State consolidation in January 2015, which the Board of Regents approved.

“This is not only a historic day for Georgia State University and Georgia Perimeter College; it is also an important day for the students of Georgia,” said Georgia State University President Dr. Mark Becker. “We look forward to helping thousands more students graduate with the support of our nationally recognized programs aimed at ensuring student success.”

With the completion of the Georgia State University consolidation, the University System of Georgia is now comprised of 29 institutions.

« News Releases