External Affairs Division

Armstrong State/Georgia Southern Consolidation Implementation Committee Appointed

Atlanta — January 26, 2017

University System of Georgia (USG) Chancellor Dr. Steve Wrigley has appointed the Armstrong State University – Georgia Southern University Consolidation Implementation Committee. The 41-member committee consists of 20 representatives each from Armstrong State and Georgia Southern and one representative from Savannah State University. The committee will have its first meeting at the USG System Office on Wednesday, Feb. 1.

The consolidation implementation committee will be charged with the responsibility to work out the many details associated with the consolidation. The committee will provide regular updates to the campus communities. An initial action for the committee is to develop the mission statement for the new university. Information about the proposed consolidation will be available and updated at and

The members of the Consolidation Implementation Committee are:

Armstrong State University

  • Linda M. Bleicken, president
  • Allison Belzer, associate professor, college of liberal arts
  • Janet Buckenmeyer, dean and professor, college of education
  • Christopher Corrigan, vice president, business and finance
  • Lee Davis, university counsel
  • Deidra Dennie, director, equity, diversity and inclusion, and chair, staff council
  • Catherine Gilbert, associate professor, college of health professions
  • Joy Hamm, associate vice president, enrollment services
  • Amy Heaston, chief of staff
  • Peter Hoffman, director, government relations and community engagement
  • Wayne Johnson, professor, college of science and technology
  • William Kelso, vice president, advancement
  • Dorothy Kempson, director, Armstrong Liberty Center
  • Georj Lewis, vice president, student affairs
  • Laura Mills, director, institutional research
  • Tim Moody, chief information officer
  • Clifford Padgett, associate professor and president, faculty senate
  • Robert Smith, provost and vice president, academic affairs
  • Lisa Sweany, director, athletics
  • Dustin Stewart, senior and president, student government association

Georgia Southern University

  • Jaimie Hebert, president
  • Trip Addison, vice president, university advancement and external affairs
  • Amy Ballagh, associate vice president, student affairs and enrollment management
  • Jean Bartels, provost and vice president, academic affairs
  • Jana Briley, chief audit officer
  • Jayne Perkins Brown, senior associate vice president, student affairs and enrollment management and director, strategic research and analysis
  • Kim Brown, senior associate vice president, financial and business services
  • Rebecca Carroll, associate vice president, human resources
  • Diana Cone, vice provost, academic affairs
  • Maura Copeland, associate vice president, legal affairs
  • Teresa Flateby, associate vice president, institutional effectiveness
  • Richard Flynn, faculty senate moderator and professor, department of literature and philosophy
  • Dylan John, student government association president
  • Tom Kleinlein, director, athletics
  • Thomas Koballa, dean, college of education
  • Brian Koehler, associate dean, curriculum and advisement, college of science and mathematics
  • Curtis Ricker, dean, college of liberal arts and social sciences
  • Ron Stalnaker, chief information officer
  • Teresa Thompson, vice president, student affairs and enrollment management
  • Rob Whitaker, vice president, business and finance

Savannah State University

  • David Smith, chief of staff
« News Releases