The central communications/public information operation for the USG

Allbritten Named President of Macon State College

Atlanta — May 6, 2011

Dr. Jeffery S. Allbritten thumbnail
Dr. Jeffery S. Allbritten

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia (USG) today named Dr. Jeffery S. Allbritten, president, Collier County Campus of Edison State College in Naples, Fl., as the sixth president of Macon State College in Macon.

“Dr. Allbritten’s career demonstrates his dedication to academic excellence and student success,” said USG chief operating officer Robert Watts. “We are looking forward to the contribution he will make to Macon State College and the University System of Georgia.”

Regent Mansfield Jennings, chair of the Special Regents’ Committee for the presidential search at Macon State College, added that Allbritten’s “history of leadership in higher education both in Florida and Tennessee is impressive. The committee is convinced that Dr. Allbritten possesses the necessary leadership skills and is extremely confident in his readiness to lead Macon State College.”

Allbritten will assume his post on July 1, 2011, according to Watts. He will replace Macon State College President Dr. David A. Bell, who will step down as president, effective June 30, 2011. Dr. Bell has served Macon State College in this role since 1997.

Prior to his appointment at the Collier County Campus of Edison State College, Allbritten was the director of Pines Center Campus of Broward College, a comprehensive community college serving Broward County in southeast Florida, from 2000-2003.

Allbritten served as dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Florida State College at Jacksonville, the second largest college in Florida with 80,000 students, from 1999 to 2000. Prior to his arrival in Florida, he was associate dean of the College of Basic and Applied Sciences at Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, from 1995 to 1999.

Allbritten holds a Doctor of Arts degree in chemistry from Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, a master of science degree in mathematics from Murray State University, Murray, Ky., and a bachelor of science degree in chemistry, also conferred by Murray State University.

« News Releases