External Affairs Division

Albany State University-Darton State College Consolidation Implementation Committee Appointed

Atlanta — December 4, 2015

University System of Georgia (USG) Chancellor Hank Huckaby has appointed the Albany State University (ASU) – Darton State College (DSC) Consolidation Implementation Committee. The committee will have its first meeting at the USG System Office on Wednesday, Dec. 9.

The committee will provide regular updates to the campus communities. Information about the proposed consolidation is available at

The members of the Consolidation Implementation Committee are:

Albany State University Members
President Art Dunning
Dr. Kevin Scott, associate professor in English and modern languages
Dr. Florence Lyons, associate professor and coordinator of speech and theater
Dr. Chanta Haywood, vice president for institutional advancement
Dr. Linda Grimsley, associate vice president for academic affairs
Cynthia Hoke, senior advisor and special assistant to the president
Dr. Kellei Samuels, assistant vice president for institutional research and effectiveness
Dr. Danette Saylor, vice president for student affairs and success
Dr. Paul Bryant, associate provost for enrollment management
Katherine Laster, director of internal audits
Dr. LaVerne McLaughlin, director of the library and associate professor
Dr. George Thomas, professor of criminal justice and sociology and faculty liaison
Dr. Walter Bowers, chair of faculty senate and assistant professor in criminal justice and sociology
Laurentiis Gaines, president of the Student Government Association
Dr. Jianchuan Zhou, assistant professor of arts and humanities
Dr. Alicia Jackson, dean of the College of Business
Loretta Harris, business services lead accountant
Dr. Carolyn Rollins, associate professor in the College of Education
Dr. Erica Decuir, assistant professor in the College of Education
Dr. Ashok Jain, professor of biology
Pamela Lewis, College of Education graduate student

Darton State College Members
Interim President Paul Jones
Interim President Richard Carvajal
Kendall Isaac, chief human resources and legal affairs officer
Frank Malinowski, assistant vice president for enrollment management
Dr. Tom Ormond, interim provost and vice president for academic affairs
Devin Williams, president of the Student Government Association
Dr. Jeff Etheridge, occupational therapy assistant program director
Renita Luck, director of online learning
Rocco Cappello, dean of students and director of resident life
Lea Henry, interim director of athletics
Pat Ridgeway, assistant dean of student success
Dr. Jamie Barker, assistant professor of English
Dr. Elizabeth Perkins, dean of humanities and social sciences
Dr. Jason Goodner, assistant professor of sociology
Wendy Kennedy, chair of social sciences
Dr. Ulf Kirchdorfer, professor of English
Cynthia George, chief advancement officer
Dr. Elizabeth Delancy, assistant professor of dance
John Clemens, vice president for fiscal affairs
Jeremiah Pitts, associate professor of English to speakers of other languages and faculty senate chair
Debra Richardson, assistant professor of nursing
Wendy Wilson, special assistant to the president and chief diversity officer

« News Releases