Institution Previous Name
GIT Georgia Institute of Technology
GSU Georgia State University
MCG Medical College of Georgia
UGA University of Georgia
GSOU Georgia Southern University Georgia Southern College
VSU Valdosta State University Valdosta State College
ALSU Albany State University Albany State College
AASU Armstrong Atlantic State University Armstrong State College
AUSU Augusta State University Augusta College
CCSU Clayton College & State University Clayton State College
CSU Columbus State University Columbus College
FVSU Fort Valley State University Fort Valley State College
GCSU Georgia College & State University Georgia College
GSSU Georgia Southwestern State University Georgia Southwestern College
KSU Kennesaw State University Kennesaw State College
NGSU North Georgia College & State Univ. North Georgia College
SSU Savannah State University Savannah State College
SPSU Southern Polytechnic State University Southern College of Technology
SUWG State University of West Georgia West Georgia College
ABAC Abraham Baldwin Agric. College
AMC Atlanta Metropolitan College Atlanta Junior College
BC Bainbridge College Bainbridge Junior College
CGCC Coastal Georgia Community College Brunswick College
DAL Dalton College Dalton Junior College
DAR Darton College Albany Junior College
DKC DeKalb College DeKalb Community College
EGC East Georgia College Emanuel County Junior College
FC Floyd College Floyd Junior College
GVC Gainesville College Gainesville Junior College
GOC Gordon College Gordon Junior College
MSC Macon State College Macon College
MGC Middle Georgia College
SGC South Georgia College
WC Waycross College Waycross Junior College

DeKalb Community College became the 34th unit of the University System of Georgia on July 1, 1986. Prior to that it was the only public junior college in the State founded under the Junior College Act of 1958 and was supported and controlled by the local Board of Education. Data for the institution prior to July 1, 1986 are not included in this document.

Clayton College & State University (formerly Clayton Junior College) was elevated from two-year college status to senior college status by Board action effective July 1, 1986. The first baccalaureate graduation was in June 1989.

Georgia Southern College became a regional university, Georgia Southern University on July 1, 1990.

Valdosta State College became a regional university, Valdosta State University on July 1, 1993.

Macon College became Macon State College on July 1, 1997.

<< Previous Page ] [ Table of Contents ]