Regent's Physics and Astronomy Academic Advisory Committee Minutes of the April 20, 2007 meeting

The meeting was convened at 10:02 with a quorum. Members present were Chris Wozny, chair (Waycross College), Michael Torbett, chair-elect (Macon State College), Bob Powell (University of West Georgia), Imad El-Jeaid (Middle Georgia College), Andy Hauger (Augusta State University), K.C. Chan (Albany State University), Dick Prior (North Georgia College & State University), Chad Davies (Gordon College), Charles Johnson (South Georgia College), Leon Jaynes (Armstrong Atlantic State University), Kenneth Pestka II (Dalton State College), Taha Mzoughi (Kennesaw State College), Zodiac Webster (Columbus State University), Ntungwa Maasha (Coastal Georgia Community College), Mariam Dittmann (Georgia Perimeter College), Tatiana Krivosheev (Clayton State University), Roger Sakhel (Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College), Emma Cooley (Atlanta Metropolitan College), Bill Dennis (University of Georgia), Joseph Patterson (Atlanta Metropolitan College), Michael Pangia (Georgia College & State University), Melissa Bryan (Darton College), J.B. Sharma (Gainesville State College)

- 1) The first item of business was introduced by the chair involving the issue of Program Assessment. The item was tabled for later discussion.
- 2) The second item of business concerned Butler's directive to re-examine the issue of Advanced Placement scores. It was pointed out that for most institutions this is almost a non-issue, as generally, only top tier research institutions encounter students with AP credit. For most of the institutions in the system very few students come seeking AP credit. Suggestions were offered to track students with "3" whereas students with scores of "4" or "5" seem to do well academically. The sentiment of the group was to allow students with a score of "3" credit for Phys 1111 but not Phys 1112. Mike Pangia called attention to the fact that this issue was voted on during last year's meeting where it was decided to adopt the UGA model. A motion to table the discussion failed. A motion to direct Chris Wozny to reiterate previously voted on standards to the Board of Regents and to disseminate these standards to the institutions within the System carried.
- 3) The next item involved the International Baccalaureate Program. Ms Dittman pointed out that the bill is currently in the Legislature mandating up to 24 hours credit. Committee elects to take no action at this time.
- 4) The next item involved lab fees. A polling of the 18 institutions present at the meeting showed that 13 did levy lab fees and 5 did not. Lab fees were in the range from \$15 to \$35.
- 5) The next item was the re-addressing of Program Assessment and Program Effectiveness. Considerable discussion centered on the need to acknowledge that physics is an academic discipline and that the study of physics as learning for the sake of increasing and communicating knowledge can stand on its own merits. The committee felt that in order

to "assess program effectiveness", a definition of "program" is needed. Is a "program" physics, in general, or is a "program" Area F? The committee pointed out that the definition of "program" would be different at different institutions with that mission being one thing at research institutions granting physics degrees and something else at institutions where physics is supporting other curricula. One measure of success at 2-year institutions, means to measure effectiveness might be exit exams, graduate school acceptance, or even job success. It was pointed out that the best scores on the GRE, MCAT, and LSAT are made by physics students. Thus, these measures might serve as meaningful indicators. In view of the uncertainty, a motion was made to have Chris Wozny request clarification from the Board of Regents of exactly what is meant by "program effectiveness" at the various types of institutions. Motion carried.

- 6) The next item was election of officers. Bill Dennis of UGA was selected as Chair-Elect. The Executive Committee, in addition to Chair-elect (Bill Dennis) past and current chairs (Chris Wozny, Michael Torbett) was selected to consist of Mariam Dittmann from the 2year college rank, Michael Pangia from the State Universities, and Chad Davies from the Regional and Research Universities.
- 7) The last item involved e-courses. A sub-committee was formed to study the impact of ecourses on the University System. That sub-committee will consist of Chris Wozny, Bill Powell, Mariam Dittmann, and Zodiac Webster.

The meeting was adjourned at 12 pm.

Respectfully submitted

Michael Torbett (Chair-elect)

Macon State College