Arts and Sciences Committee Bylaws

Article I. Membership

The membership of the Academic Advisory Committee on Arts and Sciences will be composed of the deans/directors or their designees from each of the colleges, schools, or divisions which comprise the areas of the Arts and Sciences at the institutions within the University System of Georgia. When there is more than one dean or director representing the arts, sciences, and letters at a given institution, the president of that institution shall designate one dean or director as the official representative of the institution. Deans of Arts and Sciences from independent colleges and universities in Georgia may be included in the membership of the committee, but may not be elected to the offices described in Article IV and are non-voting members of the committee.

Article II. General Function

The general function of the Academic Advisory Committee shall be to study the curricula and programs of instruction within Arts and Sciences and to make reports and recommendations concerning the improvement of instruction, to exchange information and ideas, to improve articulation and coordination among the institutions of the University System, and to consider any other matters requested by the Chancellor, his/her representative, or a member of the committee. The committee will consider other issues of interest to the membership.

Article III. Voting

Each institution within the University System of Georgia will have one vote on any matter brought before the committee. All votes will be cast by the official representative or the designee of the institution after consulting with any other members of that institution in attendance.

Article IV. Executive Committee

The Executive Committee will consist of one representative from each of the four categories of institutions (Research Universities, Comprehensive Universities, State Universities, and State Colleges). The Executive Committee will also include the immediate past chair for a total of five members. The four institutional representatives of the Executive Committee shall be elected annually by a majority vote of the membership of the Academic Advisory Committee. Institutional representatives can be reelected for up to three years of consecutive service. From among the four institutional representatives, an election shall be held annually for the Office of Vice Chair by a majority vote of the membership of the Academic Advisory Committee. The Office of Chair shall be filled by the succession of the Vice Chair to that post. The term of office for each member of the Executive Committee shall begin on July 1 and end on June 30 of the following year. The immediate past chair will collect nominations, distribute the election ballot via email, and tabulate the votes for the four institutional representatives by May 1 for the membership of the Executive Committee and by June 1 for the Vice Chair to serve in the following academic year.

The Executive Committee shall represent the membership of the Academic Advisory Committee on Arts, Sciences, and Letters and act for the Academic Advisory Committee when the Academic Advisory Committee is not in session. The Executive Committee shall make all reasonable attempts to communicate with and solicit opinions from the membership of the Advisory Committee prior to exercising its authority under this article.

For the purpose of insuring equitable representation of all institutions within the University System of Georgia, member institutions shall be organized by the four following categories:

Category A: Research Universities

Augusta University Georgia Institute of Technology Georgia State University University of Georgia

Category B: Comprehensive Universities

Georgia Southern University Kennesaw State University University of West Georgia Valdosta State University

Category C: State Universities

Albany State University Clayton State University Columbus State University Fort Valley State University Georgia College & State University Georgia Southwestern State University Middle Georgia State University Savannah State University University of North Georgia

Category D: State Colleges

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College Atlanta Metropolitan State College College of Coastal Georgia Dalton State College East Georgia State College Georgia Gwinnett College Georgia Highlands College Gordon State College South Georgia State College The Chair of the Academic Advisory Committee will fill vacancies on the Executive Committee by appointment for the unexpired term.

Article V. Meetings

The Academic Advisory Committee will meet officially at least once each year. Additional meetings may be scheduled during the year by the chair of the committee. The membership of the committee shall be notified a minimum of two weeks in advance of a regular or a called meeting of the committee. If the official representative of an institution (such as a dean or director) is unable to attend a meeting, the official representative can designate another representative (such as an assistant or associate dean) to attend who will be the voting representative of the institution for that meeting. Depending upon the subject matter of a meeting, the Chair in consultation with the Executive Committee may invite other individuals from USG institutions or the system office who will be non-voting. The quorum for the transaction of official business shall consist of two-thirds of the voting membership.

Article VI. Reports of the Academic Advisory Committee

The Chair of the Academic Advisory Committee shall cause minutes to be recorded at each meeting of the Academic Advisory Committee. All minutes, reports, studies, and recommendations of the Academic Advisory Committee shall be submitted to the official designated by the Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, who will direct their dissemination to the appropriate person.

Article VII. Adoption and Amendment of Bylaws

These bylaws shall be adopted by two-thirds of the committee's voting membership. Amendments to the bylaws must be approved by two-thirds of the committee's voting membership. Proposed amendments to the bylaws must be distributed to the membership a minimum of two weeks prior to a vote.

Adopted by a 2/3 vote of the Academic Advisory Committee on June 15, 2022

Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia

270 Washington Street, S.W., Atlanta, GA 30334 U.S.A.