Central Office Staff

The Chancellor is elected by and serves at the pleasure of the Board as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System. The Deputy Chancellor is elected by the Board upon recommendation by the Chancellor. He/she serves in the absence of the Chancellor and is responsible for the day-to-day activities of the Central Office staff.

Chancellor Stephen R. Portch
Special Assistant to the Chancellor Vacant
Secretary to the Board Gail S. Weber
Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs/Deputy James L. Muyskens
Senior Vice Chancellor for Capital Resources/Treasurer Lindsay Desrochers
Senior Vice Chancellor for Human and External Resources Arthur N. Dunning
Vice Chancellor for External Affairs Thomas E. Daniel
Vice Chancellor for Facilities William K. Chatham
Vice Chancellor for Information and Instructional Technology/CIO E. Michael Staman
Vice Chancellor for Student Services Barry A. Fullerton
Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs John T. Wolfe, Jr.
Associate Vice Chancellor for Fiscal Affairs William R. Bowes
Associate Vice Chancellor for Human Resources T. Don Davis
Associate Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs Elizabeth E. Neely
Associate Vice Chancellor for Planning and Policy Analysis Cathie Mayes Hudson
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Kathleen Burk
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jan Kettlewell
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs David M. Morgan
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Budgets C. Roger Mosshart
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Design & Construction Lee H. Richey
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Development and Economic Services Annie Hunt Burriss
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Facilities Peter J. Hickey
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Information Technology Randall A. Thursby
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Instructional Technology Kris A. Biesinger
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs (Prevention) J. Burns Newsome
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs (Contracts) Corlis P. Cummings
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs (Compliance) Elaine S. Newell
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Management & Audit
   Advisory Services
Levy G. Youmans
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Media & Publications Arlethia Perry-Johnson
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Planning Joseph J. Szutz

Charles M. Snelling January 1, 1932 - May 12-13, 1933
Philip Weltner May 12-13, 1933 - June 30, 1935
S. V. Sanford July 1, 1935 - September 12, 1945
Raymond R. Paty October 9, 1946 - December 31, 1948
Harmon W. Caldwell January 1, 1949 - June 30, 1964
George L. Simpson, Jr. July 15, 1965 - June 4, 1979
Vernon Crawford May 20, 1980 - June 30, 1985
H. Dean Propst July 1, 1985 - December 31, 1993
Stephen R. Portch July 1, 1994 - Present

Acting Chancellors
Marion Smith September 12, 1945 - October 8, 1946
S. Walter Martin July 1, 1964 - July 14, 1965
Vernon Crawford June 15, 1979 - May 20, 1980
Harry Downs January 1, 1994 - June 30, 1994

Source: Office of the Chancellor

<< Previous Page ] [ Table of Contents ] [ Next Page >>