System Supplement logo

Article Posted October 29, 2010

Featured - North Georgia Presidential Search Committee Named

North Georgia Presidential Search Committee Named

On October 18, Dr. Susan Herbst, University System of Georgia (USG) executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer, announced today the appointment of the North Georgia College & State University (NGC&SU) Presidential Search Committee.

Herbst has scheduled an initial committee meeting for Mon., Nov. 22, at which time the members will be formally charged with their roles and responsibilities in conducting the search.

The Presidential Search and Screen Committee will develop a position description; place announcements in appropriate national media and conduct on-campus interviews.

Members of the Presidential Search and Screen Committee are as follows:

  • Dr. Elizabeth Combier (search committee chair), associate professor of romance languages;

  • Mike Cottrell, member, NGC&SU Foundation Board of Trustees and chairman and owner, Cottrell Inc.;

  • Dr. Harrison Davis, associate professor of counseling, department of Psychology & Sociology;

  • Jeff Davis, associate vice president for Facilities;

  • Martin Erbele, president, Student Government Association;

  • Dr. Robert Fuller, associate professor of geosciences, department of Physics;

  • Kate Maine, director of University Relations;

  • Dr. Kim Melton, professor of business, Mike Cottrell School of Business;

  • Dr. Bob Michael, dean, School of Education;

  • Jim Minter, former editor of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution;

  • Ed Nix, president of the NGC&SU Foundation; and

  • Linda Sumpter, president of the NGC&SU Alumni Association.

The committee’s work will be aided by executive search firm Greenwood/Asher & Associates of Miramar Beach, FL.

The campus-based committee will forward the credentials of three to five unranked candidates to a Special Regents’ Search Committee for the second phase. The regents’ committee will be chaired by Regent Felton Jenkins, with Regent Richard L. Tucker serving as vice-chair. Regents Jim A. Bishop, Larry R. Ellis, William “Dink” H. NeSmith Jr., and Kessel Stelling Jr. will serve as committee members, along with the committee chair and vice chair. This committee is responsible for recommending finalists to Chancellor Erroll B. Davis Jr., who will make a recommendation to the full Board of Regents.

The national search will be conducted to replace President David Potter, who announced in September his plans to step down at the end of the year as he transitions into retirement. President Potter took office at North Georgia in January 2005.

Individuals interested in details of the search process and who want to follow the process can do so through NGC&SU’s presidential search website: .

Posted by Sonja Roberts
Published in: Board of Regents, Presidents

Most Recent in: Board of Regents, Presidents,

Marrero Named President of University of West Georgia

Marrero Named President of University of West Georgia

Posted by Sonja Roberts
March 22, 2013

View Monthly Issues

View older issues »



Office of Media and Publications
Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia
270 Washington Street, SW
Atlanta, GA 30334

Phone: (404) 656-2250
Fax: (404) 651-9301
Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)